Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Reaction to Shimano crank saga

OK so hands up I've not really been paying too much attention to bike news over the last couple of years due to life and stuff, but have recently started to spend some hours back in the saddle and one thing that has recently hit the headlines is the Shimano crank saga.

Now I have a somewhat unremarkable but still very much cared for 2015 Bianchi Infinito CV which I purchased at the time for an exceptional deal fitted with an Ultegra group. Now having done some research into the issue (I'm an engineer for my sins) it's looking almost certain to be a combination design and process issue causing the crank failures so it's more a question of when not if your crank will fail (unless you live in a desert) so this leaves some choices for those in a soggy climate such as the UK..
1. Keep inspecting regularly until the crank starts to fail and replace like for like
2. Fit a heavier 105 crank
3. Fit an alternative compatible crank - FSA SLK or SRAM Force /Red spring to mind (sram would need de branding obvs.. )
4. Use this as an excuse to fit a Campy Record group  3

I'd be interested to hear what others are choosing to do?

P.s. having read across forums I've read about the issue occurring to hollowtech cranks later than the batch numbers Shimano state, as late as 2020 so far. This doesn't instill confidence in the possibility of buying a replacement Ultegra / DA...

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

8 comments

belugabob | 7 months ago
0 likes

Has anybody had their cranks inspected, since the recall, or had any feedback from their LBS (other than " we're waiting to hear from Shimano")?

Sriracha | 7 months ago
5 likes

It's come to the attention of HM Gov. Which might give hapless owners a little more leverage, since it is now, officially, unsafe