Support road.cc

Like this site? Help us to make it better.

Best value clothing and lights

Hi all . Looking to basically start again need all new cycling clothing. Tldr best value budget clothing dhb decathlon or other?
I have 6-8 mile each way commute 30-45 mins cycle mix of off road rough tarmac through shared space NCN parks etc and a bit of road. I work as a postie from a depo that has locker room and if needed showering facilities which nowadays I don't bother with, just a quick change into uniform.
I can't decide whether to go casual/gravel/MTB/baggy something like Endura Hunnvies or stay more roadie bibs.
The Hunnvies are about £50 and about as much as I'd like to spend , the other options include dhb bibs or decathlon triban 100/500 and other Endura range bibs and a couple others. What's the best value brand around £50 mark for bibs /shorts and about £30 ISH for a jersey top that'll do for this time of year with unsettled weather. I work shifts leave about 8ish in morning and leave from around 3pm but work overtime sometimes so might be more 5-6pm when I set off.

Also in market for new lights, previous used a Hope set up really good and bright to see by light but separate battery pack with internal routed cabling through the frame,
What's the best value Exposure light to see by? Some sections are unlit off road paths.

If you're new please join in and if you have questions pop them below and the forum regulars will answer as best we can.

Add new comment

5 comments

HoldingOn | 9 months ago
0 likes

I very much cycle on a tight budget. I did quite a bit of running, so had a lot of running clothes, that I just repurposed for cycling. I have a few long sleeve fleece tops from Decathlon that are really good. "Kalenji warm long sleeved running t-shirt" the Neon Yellow is good hi-vis. Bit warm for the current hot weather, but great in the cold.